The Legendary Show of December 7th, 2018

There comes a time for even me to not be silly, but rather to pause and bow my head for a moment of respectful silence in gratitude to everyone who has contributed to Elysium Cabaret over the past six years. This show marked our Sixth Anniversary. Six years ago today, Elysium Cabaret performed our first show. What an adventure it has been, one of creativity and friendship, sharing imaginative journeys with one another. To say THANK YOU, I have created a photo album with pictures of acts from Elysium shows over the past six years. Here is the history pages from that album. Of course, you can scroll past it if you don’t want to read it, but for those of you who wonder how it all came together, read on.

A Bit of Elysium History from Babypea
How did Elysium get started? I met Gunner in Gorean roleplay on May 11th 2011. I was in my big fat, bald kajira gag avatar, and a friend sold me to him sight-unseen as a joke. I teleported to the Gorean hub. We thought it was very funny and expected him to run screaming when he saw me. For some reason, he decided to keep me. Months later, one of his girls did a dance for him and he made a huge fuss over it. Being an ornery wench, I said to myself, “Pffft! I’ll show him the hottest dance he has ever seen!” He was my inspiration. I started dancing in Gor regularly in January of 2012, including competitive dance and exhibitions, solely to impress the man who became my real-life other half. I couldn’t care less what anyone else thought. Only him. On April 11th 2012, he joined me in Australia in real life and in July of that year, we were legally married. He has always encouraged me to dance.

I started placing in competitions, then winning them. In under a year, I competed in 41 Gorean dance competitions, placing in all but six with 17 First Places. It was most humbling, I must say. And rewarding on many levels. But it came at a cost. People who didn’t even know me… complete strangers… loved or hated me solely on my Gorean dancing. This fostered an enormous amount of resentment one way or another, and led to dramas and general displays of human ugliness. I was even told by a Gorean dance judge to “dummy down” my dances and “give other girls a chance,” that it was “their turn to win”. So, all that about dancing for the pleasure of my “Owner” was crap. Right? This is what happens when dance becomes competition. It all contaminated the spirit of Gorean dance for me, and left me feeling contempt for it. So, I stopped doing it. Easy decision. I could still dance for Yours (what I call Gunner von Phoenix, because he calls me Mine) privately. But I did not have to dance for him in the Pits of Competitive Unseemliness.

I longed to dance to a variety of music in a variety of styles, to wear different costumes, to build environments, to allow the choreography to speak rather than having to spell everything out with emotes. One day, I created such a dance to a mix of “Stray Cat Strut” and “Everybody Wants to be a Cat”. I had no idea there were people in Second Life already doing this, and performing entire shows on stage. I was a member of Dance Queens, but Gorean dance was so insular and kept me so isolated from the SL dance community as a whole, that my focus was grossly limited. And then one day I saw a notice advertising for dancers in a new troupe called Follies. The notice had been posted in Dance Queens chat group by Lady C (Correia). I was most nervous but replied to her advertisement, and we started talking. Next thing I knew, I was auditioning. I joined Follies and then was directed to Orchids by Lat (Yummy) Lovencraft. Thus, began my journey of learning and discovery on the unlimited highway of Second Life dance.

Being an ornery wench, I naturally soon began to feel a bit constrained. I longed for more freedom in dance. I had unspoken thoughts of starting my own dance troupe, but never ever would I have voiced such terrifying musings. I did not feel ready. Then one day Diawa said I should start my own troupe. So, it was finally spoken out loud and by someone other than myself, proving I was not the only person thinking it. But I still felt it was an insane consideration. I was not ready. I wanted a place where I could do most ANYTHING I wanted, including comedy dances, religious dances, nude dances or not… I wanted to dance some place that had few limits, a place of total expressive freedom. But I was not ready.

I met Paul Woodrunner back in 2009 when we both performed in tribute band shows. We performed under the umbrella of a tribute band conglomerate. I adored Paul. He was my friend. He did Amaretto Breedable Horses under the name of Copperhead Road. He gave me my first horse, General Custer. I had a sim called Snowy River, and he moved onto it. In time, his other half, Jilley, moved onto the sim as well. We lived there a long time. Jilley also performed in tribute bands. When Gunner was planning to relocate to Australia to be with me, I wrongly assumed our time in SL was coming to a close. So, I gave Paul Snowy River and encouraged him to change the name to his own moniker Copperhead Road, which he did. I kept a corner of the sim and rented it from Paul, Gunner and I, with Paul and Jilley on the other three-quarters of the sim. And as time has proven, Gunner and I did not leave SL. We’ve TRIED but we’re still here!

Meanwhile, my dance journey was happening. I invited Paul to a show and told him about dance. One day, he said Jilley wanted to see one of my dances, so I went over, rezzed a set, and showed her. Then Paul said Jilley wanted to dance too. I was thrilled! I longed to spread word of SL dance, to share the passion and hope it infected others as it had me. As hobbies go, it is relatively cheap when compared with many RL hobbies. As addictions go, it is not fattening other than too much sitting, it won’t rot your teeth, give you cancer, or kill your brain cells. I consider dance a healthy addiction and a fulfilling hobby.

And then the day finally came, I was talking with Gunner, Jilley, and Paul, and I *mentioned* that Diawa said I should start my own troupe. I explained I did not WANT a troupe all by myself as Owner. But with co-owners, I’d be game to give it a go. I was delighted to hear that Paul and Jilley were interested in starting a troupe with me, and Gunner was also supportive and wanting to participate. We talked about details. We made all major decisions together. We floated ideas past one another including rules, structure, and protocol. I pondered names and wanted a name that expressed Dance Heaven, but something more abstract. And then I thought of Elysium, a word and place I loved… and Cabaret because I wanted few limits. If someone wanted to do magic or comedy or sing, I wanted them to have a place to do it. Elysium Cabaret became The Name.

Then Paul invited me up to one of his build platforms and showed me something he had built. It was The Empire State Building. I fell in love with it. It was massive and had so much potential! He set about to putting a polish on it, and named it The Empire Room. That was how Elysium Cabaret got a home venue. With Paul building and Jilley decorating, they have created a stunning home for Elysium Cabaret. If you ever venture out the door and explore the rest of the platform, you will be enchanted by some of the other features that you will find, all complimenting The Empire Room. And, don’t forget to look up! I used to love to sit on the very VERY top of that building and take pics of the tiny world down below! You will feel like King of the World on top of The Empire Room!

It was Paul who found the image that became our logo. A gorgeous picture of a golden angel, rising in golden clouds… it was perfect! And Myth Raven made the original letting for the logo. Myth, a real-life graphics artist, was also the person to design the billboard and blog photos of our dancers in the place of the angel, resting in the golden clouds. It was also Myth and Diiar who insisted that I start a blog for Elysium, something I had long-resisted.

I chose our intro song. I had loved that song for YEARS, it always got me bouncing in my chair. Being RL married to the DJ, I asked him to play “I Gotta Feeling” by The Black Eyed Peas as the open, and then it was agreed on by the Owners to make that our official intro song for all our shows. I have never gotten tired of it. After all these years, it still gets me bouncing!

Our first show is so vague in my memory now. I just wanted to survive it. But I do remember, we had nine acts. Four choreographers (three of them doing two acts each) and a grand finale group dance followed by a crowd dance that consisted of ONE song which we danced on the same set as our group dance. Our first crowd dance, Mony Mony by Billy Idol, had a total of ten people dancing, which included staff and choreographers. Back then, we were a burlesque troupe mostly and often stripped. We also usually did solos. We had no backup dancers. At all. And yeah, I got naked. A lot! I found it amusing. HERE, KITTY KITTY!

When Elysium started, it was back before Spot On, back before waypoints and movers. The Barre dance HUD had just come out a few months prior, according to my memory. It was all the rage back then, with everyone switching over to the Barre from the Huddles. If you wanted to move across the stage as you danced, you used your arrow keys and hoped for the best. There were some forms of mover tools but they were complicated and did not afford the smooth movement potential that dancers now enjoy, nor the timing control that we have available through the Spot On Choreography System. There was no such thing as mesh back when Elysium first started, and ‘system’ avatar was not a thing, there was no choice in system, mesh, or Bento avatars because these others did not exist. There were just avatars and they were all what we now refer to as ‘system’ avatars. Prim and sculpt props were all there was. No such thing as a nice, totally realistic-looking mesh tree. Of course, costume changes happened much faster, rezzing was a lot easier, and lag was not as bad. Mesh changed everything for the better and the worse, depending on your perspective. Things certainly look WAY better but it comes at a price, which is more lag and rez issues.

I had no idea what to expect with Elysium Cabaret. I had no idea if we would ever find a following. I said to myself, “We will give it three months. If, in three months, we have no audience, no one to dance for, we will give up. But for three months, we will stick to it and be consistent. EVERY Friday at 6pm, no excuses, no cancelling shows, no changing days or times.” We did briefly try 5pm SLT for our shows but that proved a mistake, so we immediately went back to 6pm SLT. Two things I clearly remember about these early shows in Elysium’s history is, we had a very hard time finding choreographers and we were thrilled to have ten people in the audience.

Eventually, Wiz Nirvana joined our Management Team, proving to be a wonderful asset, helping with so many busy details. Eventually, Elysium Cabaret evolved into a pattern with a schedule and it just seemed to flow easily along, everyone doing their jobs, all parts working together to keep the whole running smoothly. Elysium’s success has been the result of hard work and dedication from a LOT of people, behind the scenes, on stage, and in the audience as well. Our audience is as much a part of our show as our dancers and choreographers, as is our DJ, for without music, we can’t dance. Without an audience to share our dances with, there wouldn’t be much fulfilment in performing. Everyone matters. Every contribution makes a difference. Again, it proves great works are made of many small works. Large, successful dance troupes are made of many talented, generous PEOPLE.

That is what Elysium is about to me. PEOPLE. It is the sharing of creativity with kindred spirits, a social outlet where the imagination can have an enhanced experience by melding with other minds. I never wanted to limit myself in Second Life dance. Some of the best rides I have had in dance have been in other peoples’ cars on this roller coaster that we share called Elysium Cabaret. I celebrate SIX YEARS with great joy, appreciation, and wonderment. And I raise my arms as our car climbs, preparing to tip into Year Seven, and I cry out BONZAI! Come what may, THANK YOU ALL for Six amazing years of creative social connection through Second Life dance at Elysium Cabaret, in The Empire Room at Copperhead Road. Welcome to the weekend! Our tagline was coined by Paul.

 

Our first notice ever for our first show, when Jilley and Birdie made their dance debuts:

The Empire Room at Copperhead Road invites you to its Grand Opening, featuring the debut performance of Elysium Cabaret! Starting at 6pm SLT, Elysium Cabaret is an eclectic mix of music, dance styles, and creative expression. It is also a peek into the possible future, as dancers new to dance in SL make their debut performances. Tonight’s show will celebrate two new dancers taking the stage for the first time as well as seasoned dancers, plus a bit of fun with the audience! Hope to see you there….

 

Out first line-up, a grand total of FOUR performers plus DJ Gunner:

Baby
Turned to Stone – Special Mix

Jilley
Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5

Lady
Diamonds Are Girls Best Friend – Marilyn Monroe

Birdie
Mother Earth

Baby
Feed My Frankenstein – Alice Cooper

Jilley
Alicia Keys – Empire State of Mind

Lady
Walkin n Strippin – Ingrid Ignition

Group Number
The Body Beautiful – Salt n Pepa

Group with Audience Number
Mony Mony – Billy Idol

Our first crowd dance, a total of ten people, consisted of ONE song, and was danced on the group dance number set! Birdie, Lady C, Jilley, Pea, Gunner behind Pea, and five audience members!

 

To commemorate Six Years of Elysium Cabaret, I have spent countless hours, days, weeks going through hundreds of folders of photos, pictures of shows from the past six years. I have put these pictures together in an album which you can pick up in-world. I have tried to select one pic of each Elysium Cabaret dance that I have photos of. Some funny or extra moments I have selected more than one, but I have tried to not do that too much and tried to not duplicate pictures of acts. It is easy to lose a needle in the haystack of thousands of photos, so your patience and understanding with the photos presented is appreciated.

You can wear the album as a HUD on your monitor, or rez it on the ground to look through it. It was meant to be viewed in Landscape form. You will need to enlarge it to read the words by clicking it, selecting Size from the drop-down menu, then clicking the number 5, then the number 9 to go largest. You will have to have it rezzed for this, otherwise it will not likely fit entirely on your monitor and you will have to edit it and slide it left and right to read it.

The album is a glimpse of the past six years of Elysium Cabaret. More or less, there is a rough order of older pictures from the earliest shows, then the photos moving through time, progressing to the present. Any names or words on pictures were put there by other people. My time constraints will not allow me to do names on that many photos. Photo credits are not possible, as I have no idea who took many of these photos. I know I took a lot of them, but Toysoldier Thor took quite a few, as did Fukuju Amaterasu, R. Crap Mariner, Web Sass, and many other contributors.

Now, I have missed shows. There have been entire blocks of time, months, where I took NO pictures because trying to take pictures during shows is difficult when you are performing in them AND trying to contribute to running the show as an Owner AND wrangling blog fodder. Then there are the many times I could not take pictures of acts due to rez issues. Thus, the 1731 pictures I have gathered represent only around half of the acts that have graced Elysium’s stage in The Empire Room. But I have done my best to gather what I can, calling for others to contribute, (also ravaging R. Crap Mariner’s Flicker), and this album is the result. Six years of memories shared, a labour of love and appreciation resulting in carpal tunnel and feelings of warmth and satisfaction. My gift to you. Thank you for taking the time to share in the spirit of friendship and creative fun. Let us raise our glasses in welcome to the Seventh Year.

[2018/12/07 17:45] Queenie Acacia: I was looking at the pics and I remember so many of the early ones, the ones that made me want to dance

If you want to DL any pictures from the Sixth Anniversary Album, I have uploaded them ALL into Elysium’s Facebook group. I separated them into five albums, roughly by year. You will have to poke around to find the pictures you want, then feel free to DL them for your personal use and memories.

Please also pick up your gift created by Web Sass, a dressing table for dancers to use to put their makeup on, with all the special Anniversary trimmings: an angel teddy bear, a box of chocolates, champagne, balloons… you can unpack the table to find some of these items that you can hold. Web and I worked together on this, wanting to give something special to everyone in memory of this special event. And I hope you signed the guest book, near the entrance of The Empire Room, right behind the audience seating area!

[2018/12/07 17:59] Elayn: Web, that dressing table is wonderful! It’s going right into my dressing closet when I get home. Thank you so much for your work.

We want to say a huge THANK YOU to everyone who is or has ever been a part of Elysium:
Thank you to our choreographers, dancers, and guest dancers both past and present, without your hard work, dedication, and willingness to share your creative journey, we would have no shows.
Thank you to our DJs… a dance show would be impossible without music!
Thank you to our staff including many people who help with a myriad of things including filling in hosting, greeting, taking pictures, the blog, and more… thank you for your dedication and loyalty. You help to keep the engine at Elysium well-oiled and running smoothly, and keep spirits high.
Thank you to OUR AUDIENCE!! Without PEOPLE to dance for, doing shows would be pointless. The human soul longs to reach out and connect with other souls… to bond… that is why we love to dance for YOU. It is our hope to entertain you, to excite you, make you smile or laugh, make you cry… make you FEEL something, that we may connect with you. We wish to touch your hearts, lift your spirits, get you thinking, take you on an imaginative journey… thank you for joining us on this adventure.

[2018/12/07 18:00] Greenie Flanagan: awwww Corri thanks for reading all of that out for us
[2018/12/07 18:00] Murhdur: WHHOOOTTTTT gave me chills.

And HERE is a look at the fabulous FIRST SHOW of Year Seven! And OMG WHAT A SHOW IT WAS!! Brilliant acts, every one of them fabulous!! No Golden Tweezers Award tonight folks, because I am exhausted and have fallen into a heap and well the entire night was just exhilarating and overwhelming, so I need some recover time. Okay, stuff it, I can’t help it, I MUST give a Golden Tweezers Award out to The Wiz for THIS priceless post:

[2018/12/07 19:13] Wiz Nirvana: Now Ru-Wiz says, “bitch bettah werk”

CONGRATULATIONS WIZ!!

♥ XXOOs ♥Welcome to the weekend!

[2018/12/07 18:06] Greenie Flanagan: and the MAGIC begins 🙂

==========================================
Diawa
Silent Lucidity QueensRyche

[2018/12/07 17:52] Paul Woodrunner: DIAWA YOU HAVE THE HONORS
[2018/12/07 18:09] BabypeaVonPhoenix Bikergrrl: This song melts me even though nothing is blowing up, there are no mosquitoes in jars, no zombies….


[2018/12/07 17:35] Taema: Nara stop looking in private places
==========================================
Lina
with with Stoke, Antonio. Hailie, Kyser, Taema, Diamonte, Nara, Melvis and josephine
Someone in the Crowd/Lalaland

[2018/12/07 18:14] melina Aurotharius: faints
[2018/12/07 18:14] Murhdur: use your bag woman unless you threw up in it no fainting

1. Why did you choose this song to create a dance to? What was your inspiration?
This song has been in my list for a while and I could not think of a better night to do it than the Elysium Anniversary night.

2. What were the particular challenges you dealt with when creating this dance?
This dance was certainly an adventure in waypoints and time, I had so much I wanted to do with it and not a whole lot of time to do it. I found myself having to settle for a more simplistic set and concentrate this time on the choreography which turned out to be a lot of fun.

3. What does this dance mean to you? Is it a bit of fun, or is there a deeper meaning?
This dance “Someone in the Crowd” was made to say thank you to our audience who comes to see us every week, they are just as important to the Empire Room experience as the dancers, choreographers and management. I could not think of a better way to celebrate something as monumental as the 6 years of shows and so many more to come.

4. Is there anything you would like others to know about your dance?
It is for all of you, and thank you to my dancers too for being there with me to pull it all together.

[2018/12/07 18:18] BabypeaVonPhoenix Bikergrrl: I hope Diiar is seeing this *grins*
==========================================
Wiz
With Pea
Life is a Highway – Rascal Flatts

[2018/12/07 18:25] DarkRaven Ninetails: I gotta stop drinking and driving


[2018/12/07 18:27] BabypeaVonPhoenix Bikergrrl: Now I can die happy cause I got to be in that dance!
==========================================
Jo
With Queenie, Nara, Seb and Melvis
La Tasca – La Guitarra Azul

[2018/12/07 18:32] Dear Misfit: i like the eye candy
1. Why did you choose this song to create a dance to? What was your inspiration?
Interestingly enough the set came first. It was a photoprop I bought which I built around to make a full sized set and two flamenco dances that A&M added to their flamenco series that got the ball rolling on this dance. Then I started the search for a song and I came across this group and La Tasca! Would you believe that is the Spanish word for a cheap bar or a tavern, in fact a dive? Laughs.

2. What were the particular challenges you dealt with when creating this dance?
It’s a very small space to dance in, especially with five dancers so there’s not a lot of scope for movement and it’s a fairly long song so I hope it’s not too boring.

3. What does this dance mean to you? Is it a bit of fun, or is there a deeper meaning?
No deep meaning. The song is a great latin flamenco fusion and I really grew to love it as I played it over and over and over. It certainly gets the blood flowing.

4. Is there anything you would like others to know about your dance?
Um, er, nope!

5. How do you feel about Babypea’s ass? Any devotions you wish to publicly express?
More um-ing and er-ing followed by no comment.

[2018/12/07 18:35] Greenie Flanagan: Loved that…total tingles from that one
==========================================
Antonio
with with Hailie, Corri, Baby Pea, Jilley, Lina, Stoke and Paul, Wiz
Deep in Vogue (Introducing Lourdes & Willie Ninja)

[2018/12/07 17:58] Murhdur: passes out paper bags “in case of cabin pressure lowering use these”
[2018/12/07 17:58] Jilley Resident: or just puke in them

1. Why did you choose this song to create a dance to? What was your inspiration?
I used to work in a club in RL where this was done, It was a bit of Glamor, model, and pose a little Class. I thought it was appropriate for E for the Anniversary show, “This is a tribute” is how it starts. its my tribute to E, and a Thank You for a wonderful year, by sharing an act I enjoyed getting all dressed up in a tux and telling the story of Vogue where it really started. FYI Madonna did NOT create Voguing.

2. What were the particular challenges you dealt with when creating this dance?
Finding proper poses and dances so the girls danced and posed as girls and the guys danced and posed as guys.

3. What does this dance mean to you? Is it a bit of fun, or is there a deeper meaning?
It was a good memory for me, the club I worked at is no longer standing, and I actually have a piece of the stage framed on the wall.. So bringing it here is a way of sharing a piece of me with you, but this week a good piece.

4. Is there anything you would like others to know about your dance?
I hope you all enjoy it as much as I have in both RL an SL. Maybe if you listen to the words it will tell you the real story of Voguing and how it started. It was battles on the dance floor held by different houses (groups of people that were family and supported) instead of violence it was danced and posed out.

[2018/12/07 17:32] GracefulLove: /me sits quietly eating my BLT sandwich waiting for the show to start
[2018/12/07 17:39] Dear Misfit: coz aussies call private parts of your body bits
[2018/12/07 17:39] SarahRho Huntress: lol i could think of afew meanings for BLT but i won’t go there
[2018/12/07 17:40] Dear Misfit: ohhhhh…BLT not BIT

==========================================
Paul
Shawn James – Ain’t No Sunshine (Bill Withers Cover)

[2018/12/07 18:49] BabypeaVonPhoenix Bikergrrl: He was singing this last week when Jilley was at her mum’s


[2018/12/07 18:52] Greenie Flanagan: feeling all Zenful
==========================================
Hailie
with Antonio, Jilley, Babypea, Paul, Lina, Stoke and Zach
Harry Potter Mix

[2018/12/07 18:57] Greenie Flanagan: how cool would it be if J.K. saw this on YouTube? …no pressure Tristan 😉
1. Why did you choose this song to create a dance to? What was your inspiration?
I am a huge Harry Potter fan and I have been talking about doing a themed set for a while now, so when the Anniversary show came up I thought it would be great to create it for that.

2. What were the particular challenges you dealt with when creating this dance?
Oh…where do I start? Everything was pretty much a challenge! I wanted the Hogwarts Express in my set but trains have so many things linked together so made it difficult for me to do what I actually wanted to do with them. However, I was able to adapt and I am pleased with the outcome. Scene changes are a challenge when objects just don’t want to disappear! I have learned a few tricks but I think I still have a lot to learn on how to fix that in the future.

3. What does this dance mean to you? Is it a bit of fun, or is there a deeper meaning?
This is fun for me and I hope for everyone else, whether taking part or watching. I hope I was able to capture the essence of what Harry Potter is all about in each scene.

4. Is there anything you would like others to know about your dance?
Not a great deal more to say about this apart from I hope you enjoyed it. There was so much I wanted to do with this theme for my set that maybe I will do more in the future….you never know! Also, not forgetting the wonderful Ame for all her help with the music, she so kindly put my two pieces of music together and did a wonderful job! Thank you so much Ame!

[2018/12/07 17:31] Murhdur: makes up some kinda spell sounding words “Invisiapotale” to make the lag go away
==========================================
Jilley
Ohio Players – Fire

[2018/12/07 19:01] Jeniale Inglewood: /me puts out the drool buckets in the audience.


[2018/12/07 17:39] Murhdur: Well I learned Fannie is not Fanny in england
[2018/12/07 17:40] Murhdur: er Fanny or Fannie how ever it’s spelled
[2018/12/07 17:40] Murhdur: is not Fannie
[2018/12/07 17:40] Jilley Resident: fanny has a complete different meaning in Aus too
[2018/12/07 17:40] Murhdur: pervs
[2018/12/07 17:41] Dear Misfit: yes it does, 1st time i said i will wear my fanny pack i was told to never call it that again

==========================================
Babypea
With Web, Jilley, Paul, Wiz, Corri, Ant, Hailie, Elayn, Kelly, Dear, Ginty, Brit, Jo, Queenie, Lina, Jeni, Gracie, Sarah, Diamonte, Nadi, Zach, Ame, and Mikiko
With everybody wearing their favourite costumes from past Elysium dances!! A celebration of unique creativity, a place where individualism is encouraged to express itself!!
Born This Way by Lady Gaga Elysium Edit

Above photo by R. Crap Mariner with correct windlight (sorry Web, I forgot to change it cause I was so inundated).

[2018/12/07 19:02] Elayn: Dear… does my ass look ok from back there?
[2018/12/07 19:02] Dear Misfit: huge!
[2018/12/07 19:02] Elayn: that’s just the style isnt’ it?

1. Why did you choose this song to create a dance to? What was your inspiration?
I love the energy and message of this song. It is SO Elysium Cabaret! It was the perfect choice for our Sixth Anniversary dance.

2. What were the particular challenges you dealt with when creating this dance?
Fitting in a LOT of dancers. I wanted EVERYONE who WANTED to participate to be included. No one left out. So I sent out notices and posts calling for people who wanted to dance in this act, and then set about to making enough movers … and room on the stage… to fit everyone. I asked Web to build a castle set with amazing lighting, and told her it had to be along the wall and not sticking out too far cause we would need room for a lot of dancers, and she pulled that off.

Above photo by R. Crap Mariner with the correct windlight (see R.’s Flicker Elysium album for more pics of the show that are way better than mine).

[2018/12/07 19:07] Elayn: Diiar… Pea wants to show you what she can do with all these dancers….
[2018/12/07 19:07] BabypeaVonPhoenix Bikergrrl: Backstage in my dressing room after the show

3. What does this dance mean to you? Is it a bit of fun, or is there a deeper meaning?
It has very deep meaning. It is powerful and emotional and has the best message for all people, not just dancers… for everyone. I have been very weepy lately, crying very easily in RL over things that warm my heart and make me feel happy. I must be very close to the Veil cause all the love and happy and peace and contentment I have been overwhelmed with of late is not of this world. I know it’s from Capitol “H”im. Him. But He is not who or what most people think He is, He is so much more. And so are we. It’s fantastic. And He is male and female. Our Earthly pronouns are irrelevant to the facts and the long-term truth of things.

4. Is there anything you would like others to know about your dance?
Yes, for everyone, from the song:

“There’s nothing wrong with loving who you are”
She said, “‘Cause he made you perfect, babe”
“So hold your head up girl and you’ll go far,
Listen to me when I say….”

I’m beautiful in my way
‘Cause God makes no mistakes
I’m on the right track, baby I was born this way

Don’t hide yourself in regret
Just love yourself and you’re set
I’m on the right track, baby
I was born this way

[17:09] DarkRaven Ninetails: you do understand that as long as you are posed that way your panties are showing
[17:10] DarkRaven Ninetails: just sayin’
[17:15] BabypeaVonPhoenix Bikergrrl: Yes well the world should just be glad that is all that’s showing

[2018/12/07 17:05] Elayn: mental note…. find out what pea has been drinking
[2018/12/07 17:05] Jeniale Inglewood: She’s upside down to be closer to that bag next to the pancakes.

The Video: Andy was kind enough to video this dance for everyone. Here it is… give him a like for it… share it. Great chance to watch us all again. Click here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4DfiiafvLtg&feature=youtu.be Thanks!
==========================================
Eva
with Everyone!

[2018/12/07 17:17] SarahRho Huntress: quick everyone hide before Eva arrives
Van Halen – Hot For Teacher

[2018/12/07 17:21] SarahRho Huntress: eva did you let nara out too?
5 Seconds of Summer – Good Girls

[2018/12/07 17:26] SarahRho Huntress: beebs is nice? SINCE WHEN?? 😛
1. Why did you choose this song to create a dance to? What was your inspiration?
I love to create crowd dances that follow a theme – and the Ramones are one of my favorites. Once Rock and Roll High School came into play, it all rolled from there!

[2018/12/07 19:18] Jilley Resident: wow Zach thats some outfit you arent wearing
Rock ‘N’ Roll High School

[2018/12/07 19:28] Elayn: I think I’m scratching this desk up, you think anyone will mind?
2. What were the particular challenges you dealt with when creating this dance?
Debating how people would take the Cheech & Chong bits! “Shutttt uppppp!”

[2018/12/07 19:09] Wiz Nirvana: A toast, To Paul, Babypea, Jilley, and Gunner for realizing a dream and inviting us along for the ride. I am deeply honored to be working with them and all of you. Here’s to another wonderful six years, and more.
Crowd dances can be a challenge sometimes – 40-50 people on stage. Balancing adding special effects and scripts to having a crowd dance that runs well. I had to tie my hands together on this one.

[2018/12/07 19:30] Paul Woodrunner: Everyone thanks for all the fun lets have a lot more
Schools Out (For Summer) – The Factory Speedo Remix

[2018/12/07 19:30] Jilley Resident: and if I fall of this damn desk, someone pick me up pls
3. What does this dance mean to you? Is it a bit of fun, or is there a deeper meaning?
This one was pure fun – cutting loose – letting a bit of the wild and wicked out!

[2018/12/07 19:54] Stokemy Swordthain: Night Eva!!! thanks for the crowd dance, that was a blast!!!
For more pictures of the show, see Chopper’s Flicker: https://www.flickr.com/photos/30194752@N04/with/45500174974/

And of course! R. Crap Mariner’s Flicker: https://www.flickr.com/photos/isfullofcrap/albums/72157681703250966

With thanks and appreciation!

One thought on “The Legendary Show of December 7th, 2018

  1. That is really interesting, You’re an overly professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and stay up for in search of extra of your excellent post.
    Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks

    Like

Leave a comment